The Kaveri is an Indian river flowing through the states of Karnataka and Tamil Nadu. The Cauvery River rises in the Western Ghats and flows in eastwardly direction passing through the states of Karnataka, Tamil Nadu, Kerala and Pondicherry before it drains into Bay of Bengal.The total length of the river from source to its outfall into Bay of Bengal is about 800 km.The Cauvery basin extends over states of Tamil Nadu, Karnataka, Kerala and Union Territory of Puducherry draining an area of 81,155 which is nearly 2.7% of the total geographical area of the country with a maximum length and width of about 560 km and 245 km.

Cauvery river is the largest river in tamil nadu occupying 765 km.The Kaveri is a sacred river to the people of South India and is worshipped as the Goddess Kaveriamma. The primary uses of the Kaveri is providing water for irrigation, water for household consumption and the generation of electricity.In February 2020, Tamil Nadu assembly passed bill to declare Cauvery Delta as Protected Agricultural Zone, includes Thanjavur, Thirvarur, Nagapattinam and five blocks in Cuddalore and Pudukottai. The bill fails to include Tiruchirappalli, Ariyalur and Karur which are geographically included in the Cauvery Delta.The cauvery river is the main source for the delta region for irrigation.It ends in the bay of Bengal.

On 22 June 2018, despite opposition from Karnataka, the Central government constituted the Cauvery Water Regulation Committee (CWRC) as per the provisions in the Kaveri Management Scheme laid down by the Supreme Court.

Acting on the Supreme Court’s direction, the Centre constituted a Cauvery Water Management Authority (CWMA) on 1 June 2018 to address the dispute over sharing of river water among Tamil Nadu, Karnataka, Kerala and Puducherry.The central government failed to adhere with the top court’s deadline of within six weeks of deliverance of judgement.